"Virginia Smith Rice has created a tremblingly precise, intricate, bright-edged evocation of a world both ecstatic and ominous, grieving and vital, broken and mending, but rarely mended. Her poems are richly colored and intensely focused on the shapes and forms of the world and of inner life and relationships. They are crowded with living plants and creatures and intense feeling, and Rice can even describe the color of solitude. Her language is sensuously complex, her angle of vision is oblique and finds the memorable touch of reality off-center, at the edges, just this side of perceptibility. She has created a delicate yet vivid response to what she calls the 'percussed absence' that haunts human life. This is a marvelous first book." 
-Reginald Gibbons 

Virginia Smith Rice is the author of When I Wake It Will Be Forever (Sundress Publications, 2014) and the poetry chapbook, Whose House, Whose Playroom (Dancing Girl Press, 2017). Her poems appear in The Antioch Review, Baltimore Review, Cincinnati Review, Denver Quarterly, Massachusetts Review, and Southern Poetry Review, among other journals. She is co-editor of the poetry journal Kettle Blue Review and associate editor at Canopic Publishing.

When I Wake It Will Be Forever by Virginia Smith Rice


    Connect with us:

    • Facebook Social Icon
    • Twitter Social Icon
    • YouTube Social  Icon

    601 Indigo Lane
    Woodstock, IL 60098



    Contributing artists retain all copyright for their work; all other contents © Canopic Publishing 2020